Now We Have Everything – A Nursery Sign

Out of all the projects I have done, this one has got to be one of my absolute favorites.  Recently I was tasked with this:

“I need something for a baby shower, something to decorate a nursery, but different than The Mother’s Love sign you made” (THANKS LAUREN!!!) – That’s when my wheels started turning.  The first thing I went to do is look through Pinterest at Baby Nurserys.  That is what I came across this gem:

Baby room wood wall

I LOVED the way it looked, very classy and simple.  The only thing is, how can I turn this into something for a baby?  That is when the quote “First we had each other, then we had you, now we have everything” popped into my head.  If I removed one of the picture frames and just had three, I could write a part of the saying under each of the frames!

 

  • Frame 1 – First we had each other – This would be a picture of just the parents of the baby
  • Frame 2 – Then we had you – Picture of JUST the baby
  • Frame 3 – Now  we have everything – Family Picture

DONE AND DONE – LOVE IT

This item is currently not for sale on my Etsy shop because it is rather large to ship, but if you are interested, please email me at thefancystanton@hotmail.com and I can see what I can do 🙂

Or – if you choose to make your own, here’s what I did:

First I took three pieces of wood that were 6 inches wide and 36 inches long. I attached all three together by using Gorilla wood glue and brackets in the back.

Baby Sign Part 1

I then added studs at the end of each piece of wood to give it more of a rustic feel. I also added nails to the middle piece of wood to hang the picture frames on.

Baby Sign Par t2

Once the board was set and the nails were in place, I used Minwax® Wood Finish™ in Dark Walnut to stain the wood.  I used a sponge brush as well as an old cloth to do the staining (don’t forget to wear work gloves to keep your fingers from staining!!)

Wood Finish 3

I cut the letters using the Cricut Machine and attached them using Matte Modge Podge.  The frames I got were from IKEA and at a really good price!

And there you have it – the finished product came out wonderful.  It took some time, but I was very happy with the result in the end.

Now We Have Everything Sign

BIG thanks to my Dad with helping on this one, this further proves that the only guy a girl can depend on, is her Daddy.

Stay Fancy

-Jess

8 thoughts on “Now We Have Everything – A Nursery Sign

  1. Jess, this is GORGEOUS! My nephew and his wife are having a baby in December, so I will be wanting one of these! Have a question…instead of the stain, could you just paint the wood a certain color? Thanks!

  2. Hello,
    I am so in love with what you created! My sister is expecting and that would be PERFECT for her nursery. Would I be able to order one? If so I would like the details for it.

    Thank you,
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

