Changes.

This past weekend I made a trip up to my parents house to hang out.  I have been going through a lot lately both in and out of work and it is so nice to have the comfort of your family and friends to help support you.  I truly am lucky to have such a supporting and loving family who will keep me company when things are pretty crappy.

Anyways, when I got to my parents house I noticed that my Dad had a stack of old fence wood on the garbage bin outside. “WHYYYYY are you throwing this away, do you know me at all??!!?” The garbage stack quickly turned into my Dad helping me cut the wood to sign size (oh the perks of being an only child)

After my stack of fresh distressed/weathered wood emerged, I began to think of the possibilities of what I could make.  After a talk with my dad, he said focus on you.  Start doing things that make YOU happy.  I never actually made a sign for myself and to be honest, for the past 5 years I really haven’t done anything for ME.  It was always pleasing other people, being overly nice and accommodating to other people.  I guess I sort of lost sight in the fact that the person I should care about the most is me.  I wouldn’t go to the gym because I needed to make macaroni and cheese for people, I stressed myself out taking on projects I know I can’t handle just to make people happy and to be honest I AM DONE.

The sign I decided to make was for my new art/craft room.  Crafting makes me happy and I needed someone extra special to accompany my new craft room.  Here is the finished product:

life-is-art-paint-your-dreams

“Life is art, paint you dreams”  It seemed fitting to my life right now.  Although this is not where I expected to be at age 25, life has thrown me a new adventure.  I begin a new job in one week and also will be moving into a new place.  I am focusing on myself and doing things I love for ME.  In the words of Bell Hooks, “Knowing how to be solitary is central to the art of loving.  When we can be alone, we can be with others without using them as a means of escape.”

p.s – how AWESOME is that chest in the picture?!?! I bought it at the Hobby Lobby this past weekend.  I plan on using it for all my craft items and writing on the chalkboard what is in each drawer.  I can’t wait to show you once things start coming together!!

P.P.S – I am writing this from Starbucks while Bob Marley’s – “Don’t Worry About A Thing” is playing.  AMAZING.

Stay Fancy~

-Jess

 

Leave a Reply

