A Mother’s Love

Part of what I love the most about being a crafter is being tasked with new design challenges. Recently one of my friends on Facebook reached out to me regarding making a sign for her friend’s baby shower (thanks Lauren!) After some research we came up with a cute idea for a sign to be hung in a Baby’s nursery. Behold the “Mother’s Love” sign:γ€€Mother's Love Sign

DSCN5213 DSCN5217

It took me a while to figure out how the heck I was going to do this. I usually free hand paint my signs but for this one the words were a bit smaller so I wanted to be more precise. I want to give my Dad a HUGE shout out on this one, we worked on many different techniques to make this sign come to life. I first designed the sign within Illustrator then mirrored the image so all of the words were backwards. We then printed on clear transfer paper to iron them on the painted sign=FAIL.

What I ended up doing was printing the image onto the clear transfer paper, coating the sign the mod podge, and while it was still wet, placed the transfer paper on top while rubbing the letters with a Popsicle stick.

It took some time, and patience, but I am happy with the result. I plan I putting these up to my Etsy Site soon – once I get back from my best friend’s Vegas Bachelorette of course.

Stay tuned for some fun bridal shower updates and some crazy pictures from Vegas (of course I have a few creative tricks up my sleeve for that trip)

Cheers!

-Jess

Leave a Reply

