Cookie Party

It has been a dark few days over here in the state of Connecticut, and all around the Country. The complete devastation of the tragedy of Sandy Hook Elementary in Newtown has shaken the nation and has made my heart truly ache. Living so close to Newtown, and actually seeing people who may have been directly affected is heart wrenching. Although my boyfriend was not directly involved with the tragedy, his services as a first responder were called upon to help in the town and for him I am forever grateful and proud. Hearing such devastation makes it remarkably hard to get into the holiday spirit but I have found strength through family and friends to help put a smile in my heart if even for a moment. We must never forget all those affected, the children who are now beautiful angels, the teachers who are all heroes and the first responders who risk their lives every single day to protect others.

In light of the devastation, I did attend a cookie party this weekend. I must say, I felt utter guilt in feeling happiness when I know so many families are grieving and hurting, but found comfort in talking with friends and family. For the cookie party I decided to make 2 different types of cookies. Although, these are NOT diabetic friendly AT ALL – they are yummy, creative and super easy to make. I decided to put snowman faces on the truffle because frankly, I lack the skills of making the perfect truffle, so if it ends up looking like it’s a melting snowman head, you might as well decorate it to look like you actually meant it to πŸ™‚ The second are a knock off version of the Girl Scout Thin Mints – I will share those in a separate post!

Melted Snowman Oreo Truffles
Melted Snowman_Oreo Truffles

004
What You’ll Need:
1 (16 oz) package Oreo cookies
1 (8 oz) package of Cream Cheese (Room temperature)
1 package of white melting Chocolate (I used Wilton that I got at a craft store with a coupon)
1 tsp shortening

Ingredients for snowman face
– Orange and Black tubes of gel icing
Oreo_Ball_Step1-4
Directions
1. Crush entire package of Oreo cookies. I put them in a plastic bag and use a rolling pin as I don’t have a food processor.
2. Mix entire package of cream cheese (room temperature) with Oreo crumbs.
3. Melt entire bag of chocolate with 1 tsp shortening. (The shortening keeps the chocolate smooth, shiny and easier to work with) NEVER EVER add water to the melted chocolate πŸ™‚
4. Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and dip in the chocolate
**TIP I found it much much easier to refridgerate the dough while in balls for a half hour or so before dipping into the melted chocolate.
5. Let cool in refriderator for about 15 minutes and decorate with gel.
6. DEVOUR – enjoy with a cold milk or hot cocoa and make sure to share some with Santa!!

015

017

018

022

026

Leave a Reply

