Penny Pincher Cinnamon Ornaments

I give a lot of thanks to my mom for all of my crafting inspirations. My mom has been a nursery school teacher for over 30 years and growing up I always had an art set and fun new ideas to explore. Whenever I needed anything crafty I knew my mom could go into her boxes of school supplies and lend a hand. She is amazing at what she does and I look up to her very much. One craft I can remember her making with the kids from school growing up are cinnamon ornaments. She of course made them with me and well and I can still remember the ornaments smelling year after year as we put them on the tree.

This year I really wanted all my decorating to be vintage chic. When I stumbled on the cinnamon ornaments on Pinterest I immediately thought of my mom and making them while growing up. The look of the ornament is also very rustic and went perfectly with my theme. The recipe I used was my mom’s but it SUPER simple. Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 4oz Ground Cinnamon (about 2 small bottles)
  • 3/4cup-1cup apple sauce
  • A Drinking Straw
  • Cookie Cutters
  • Twine and Burlap(optional)

Big shout out to my friend Jes on providing the wine and helping me make these, and a huge shout out to ABC Family Home Alone Weekend for providing the background entertainment, (it made for a fun Friday night)

  1. Preheat oven to 200Β°F.
  2. Mix applesauce and cinnamon in small bowl until a smooth ball of dough is formed.
  3. Roll dough to 1/4-inch to 1/3-inch thickness between two sheets of plastic wrap. Peel off top sheet of plastic wrap.
  4. Cut dough into desired shapes with cookie cutters.
  5. Using a standard drinking straw, make a hole at top of ornament
  6. Place ornaments on baking sheet and bake in oven for 2 1/2 hours.
  7. Cool ornaments over night on wire rack.
  8. String with twine or ribbon and enjoy.

Once my ornaments we done, I strung them with twine and burlap. I actually utilized them not only as tree ornaments but as decorations for some vases I made. For the vases I used old brandy containers and soaked them in hot soapy water to peel the labels off. I wrapped page from an old book I had around the vase using Mod Podge and then applied a small strip of burlap using the glue gun. The hung the ornament around the neck and stuck in tree trimmings.

**GREAT TIP – when you cut down your tree, or at any place that cuts fresh trees, you can pick up all the trimmings for FREE. I found this out when I went to ask the people who worked there how much it would cost to take them and they said, “NOTHING, take them!” It was a great feeling!! The old free book, each ornament cost me 4 cents, I re-used the bottles, free tree trimmings and old scraps of burlap and twine, the whole project cost me less that 5 cents. WHAT A STEAL!

This is just the start of my holiday decorating – my scrooge boyfriend is convinced we need to wait until December first, we’ll see.

Β 

20121127-082448.jpg

Leave a Reply

