Pop*

A while back I came across a really cool YouTube tutorial on how to make a bracelet out of soda can tabs.

After watching the video and playing around on my own, I decided to put my own twist on things.  I also decided to spray paint my soda tabs a metallic gold to give it that extra “pop”.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 15-25 tabs from a soda can
  • Metallic gold spray paint
  • 2 feet of ribbon
  • Scissors

First I started off by spraying both sides of the tabs.  I used a metallic gold but I think next time I want to try a bright blue with maybe a gold ribbon. You don’t HAVE to do this step, it just makes the bracelet look a little more fun.

Next, I cut 2 one foot strands of ribbon.  I put clear nail polish on the ends of the ribbon so they did not fray.

Each strand of ribbon goes through one of the holes within the tab.  The first tab I put on, I laced the ribbon through the top side of the tab and pushed it to the middle (the top being the smooth part of the tab and the bottom being the bumpy part)

The second tab I put on, I laced the ribbon through the bottom part and again pushed to the middle. **Note I laced from the left side when starting

The third tab I put on I laced it through from the right side through the top of the tab.  I then laced the ribbon through the top part of the tab under it (the now middle tab).  This is your starter.

  Once you have your starter you can now alternate from left to right adding on the tabs.  For the tabs that go on the top row, you want to enter the ribbon through the top of the tab and then lace it through the previous one to keep them together. Bottom row tabs, enter the lace through the bottom.

As you can see here, this tab is going to be on the top so I laced it through the top of the tab.  After this is on you thread the ribbon through the bottom tab.  Keep this process up until you reach the desired length you want.

Once finished double knot the ends under the bracelet.

Tie in a bow to wear.

I also included my instagram pic on the finished bracelet.  Feel free to follow me on Instagram @jstant719!

What do you think?  What other colors would you suggest that would really make the bracelet POP*?

Cheers – J

5 thoughts on “Pop*

Leave a Reply

